(I'm picturing a receiver catching a ball in the middle of the endzone and being carried out the back of the endzone:jimlad:)
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
FR-104 RULE 7-3 / SNAPPING AND PASSING THE BALL
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone (Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).
Rule 4-1-3-p goes further:
p. When an airborne pass receiver from either team is so held and
subsequently carried that he is prevented from immediately returning to
the ground (A.R. 7-3-6-IV).
I stand corrected. :yes:
On a related note I was just wondering what would happen in the receiver caught the ball, came down and landed on top of the defender (who is in bounds) and then rolls off the top of the defender and lands out of bounds. Would it be a catch? I was thinking not because he's not down when he's on top of the defender. This almost happened in a game I saw recently. Don't remember which one.
So what happens if a receiver makes a leaping catch in the direct middle of the endzone and while in mid air a CB hits him in the air and drives him out of the back of the endzone. What would happen.. What do you think the ref would do right on the spot with no review. Would he call it a TD or go off the actual rule? I've always kind of wondered about that....
So what happens if a tsunami washs the WR away before he comes down?