It would be over and back if the defender tips the ball, then the offense tips the ball, and then the offense regains possession in the backcourt. It's all about the wording, very confusing.
It is over and back, because it was touched. That is the way I would call it. I am a official.
From the NCAA website.
Section 15. Control—Player, Team
Art. 1. A player shall be in control when:
a. Holding a live ball; or
b. Dribbling a live ball while inbounds.
Art. 2. A team shall be in control when:
a. A player of the team is in control;
b. While a live ball is being passed between teammates; or
c. When a player of that team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
Art. 3. Team control shall continue until the ball is in flight during a try for
goal, an opponent secures control or the ball becomes dead.
Art. 4. There shall be no team control during:
a. A jump ball;
b. The tapping of a rebound (unless it is a try for goal);
c. A try for goal after the ball is in flight;
d. The period that follows any of these acts (a-c) while the ball is being
batted (from the vicinity of other players) in an attempt to secure
e. A dead ball.
If you were had team possesion and were the last team to touch the ball in the front court and the first team to touch it in the back court, it is over and back.
If you are dribbling and the defender deflects it off your leg into the back court and you touch it, it is over and back.
If a shot goes up, there is no team possession and it would not be over and back. If an offensive rebounder tips it into back court, it is NOT over and back. If an offensive rebounder grabs the ball (establishing team control) and passes it into back court, it is over and back.
This exact situation was actually brought up in my referring meeting for ISU IM Bball. Randy Heimerman, a Big12,big10 etc referee, stated that it would not be over and back. The wording does seem to confuse a lot however and I was unsure at the time of the question as well.
Just thought I'd add it...Quote:
Section 11. Ball in Back Court
Art. 1. A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his or her back court
when the ball came from the front court while the player’s team was in
team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the
Dont ask the refs from the Texas game.