Possession is 2 feet down and a second move. Tate had his hands on ball before the defender hit the ground. it was simultaneously possessed
Did you hear Jerry Austin (the retired NFL ref consultant guy)? Basically he said that because Jennings had it in his chest and Tate had one or maybe even both hands on it, the simultaneous possession rule doesn't apply. Jennings had possession.
So if the reciever goes up and catches a pass, and the DB puts his hands on the ball on the way down, it's dual possesion?
Actually, if I'm a WR coach, if the QB makes a bad throw, I'm going to coach my WR to just bearhug the DB as he catches the ball and work his arms around the ball as/after he falls to the ground...apparently that's what you need to show possession under these refs.
Now that I've seen it again the pass in flight looks like it hits Tate's left hand, and both of Jennings hand, while both players are in the air. As they're falling Tate puts his other hand on the ball, around Jennings.
Now, is possession gained in the air or not until you get two feet on the ground? If possession is given in the air then Jennings has it first and Tate second and it should be an interception. If it's not until the player is on the ground I think it's simultaneous possession because by the time they hit the ground Tate has two hands on it just like Jennings.
All content owned by CycloneFanatic.com - All rights reserved 2005-09. By viewing this website you agree to the Terms of Service, Site Rules and Legal Disclaimer. The words, views, images and opinions expressed or provided by users do not reflect the opinions or views of CycloneFanatic.com or Iowa State University. The names, words, symbols, and graphics representing Iowa State University are trademarks and copyrights of the University protected by the trademark and copyright laws of the United States of America and other countries and are used on this web site under license from the University. Original site design, premise & construction by Jeremy Lind.