First, I think most defenders are more concerned about getting the receiver down on the ground and not getting burned to come up with something as devious as catching a receiver in mid-air and carrying them out of bounds. Second, this rule change was to remove the judgment call that a ref had to make as to whether he thought that a receiver would land in-bounds or not based on a defender knocking him out of bounds before he could get his feet down. There's no judgment call when a receiver catches a ball at the field numbers and is carried out of bounds - clearly the receiver would have landed in-bounds. See a situation like that and it will be called a catch.
Chuck Lidell: I paint my toenails with pink and black polish. Problem is, I get more paint on my toes and on the carpet than on my nails. Any advice? Maria Sharapova: Don't you beat up other guys for a living? I don't know how to answer this.
All content owned by CycloneFanatic.com - All rights reserved 2005-09. By viewing this website you agree to the Terms of Service, Site Rules and Legal Disclaimer. The words, views, images and opinions expressed or provided by users do not reflect the opinions or views of CycloneFanatic.com or Iowa State University. The names, words, symbols, and graphics representing Iowa State University are trademarks and copyrights of the University protected by the trademark and copyright laws of the United States of America and other countries and are used on this web site under license from the University. Original site design, premise & construction by Jeremy Lind.
Iowa State vs. George Mason (Diamond Head Classic)