When a defender is saddled with an error for prolonging a plate appearance because he dropped a foul pop, why is the hiter not charged with an at bat?
So he grounds out on the next pitch and is charged for two at-bats on one plate appearance? Can't happen...
I had a situation arise in a youth game several years ago; asked two veteran HS umpires their opinions and they gave me opposite answers. Situation: Runner on first with one out. Grounder hit to second; runner starts to 2nd and "retreats" towards first to avoid tag; 2nd baseman throws to first to "force" the batter and team commences the run-down. Field umpire immediately calls the runner out with explanation that he "gave himself up" by retreating towards first.
Mine was the team in the field so I don't have an axe to grind on it, but the two certified umps I asked later gave me two different answers; one said he could "retreat" and the other said the field umps were correct. I think the runner can not only retreat to avoid the tag, he can return to first base once the "force" behind him is no longer in play. Anybody?
Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. - Mark Twain
All content owned by CycloneFanatic.com - All rights reserved 2005-09. By viewing this website you agree to the Terms of Service, Site Rules and Legal Disclaimer. The words, views, images and opinions expressed or provided by users do not reflect the opinions or views of CycloneFanatic.com or Iowa State University. The names, words, symbols, and graphics representing Iowa State University are trademarks and copyrights of the University protected by the trademark and copyright laws of the United States of America and other countries and are used on this web site under license from the University. Original site design, premise & construction by Jeremy Lind.
Iowa State vs. George Mason (Diamond Head Classic)