Lawn care

CloneGuy8

Mar 20, 2017
I know there's another lawn care thread out there, but I don't want to hijack that one. This is the 2nd Spring at our house. Last year I didn't put anything down and our lawn looked like ****. This year I don't want that to happen again. I want to put organic lawn fertilizer down since it's supposed to be safe for my dog. Will applying something (thinking of this https://www.planetnatural.com/product/super-natural-lawn-fertilizer/) be enough to keep my lawn looking nice? I'm a newb at this stuff.

Also, is it worth it to just hire a local company like A+ to do this if I don't really know what the **** I'm doing?

nocsious3

Aug 23, 2013
You can find milorganite at wal-mart and home depot. It's only 4-5% Nitrogen by weight so you'll need to use a lot of it to get the desired results. Ringer is also another option and can sometimes be found at the big box hardware stores. Both products have an odor to them but it goes away in a day or two.

nocsious3

Aug 23, 2013
As far as safety for pets and kids, it's not really the fertilizer where you could have reasonable concerns. It's the other stuff like herbicide, insecticide, and in some cases fungicide where I think caution is reasonable and understand why people want to go with natural solutions. Pretty much all the crabgrass preventer is highly toxic to fish for instance.

On the other hand the products are highly tested before being made available to the general public these days, so the risks are probably very small. That said, there are other benefits from an organic lawn program including healthier soils with better microbe composition. A healthy soil microbial community can help naturally defend turf from disease.

• Informative
Reactions: CloneGuy8

clone34

Mar 29, 2009