Jarvis West Fumble

Cyclophile1

Well-Known Member
Dec 14, 2009
1,910
120
48
Overland Park, KS
Help me understand. West has possession and a knee down, doesn't that end the play in this case? If you have a different series of pix that show otherwise, I'd be interested in seeing them.

Yes, he has possession and a knee down. Case closed.

But, the zebras huddle and call it an interception in real time and the burden of evidence shifts. It's awfully hard to overcome that. I hated that call, because it's such a huge momentum play either way.
 

klamath632

Well-Known Member
Nov 19, 2011
12,430
323
83
Mike Pereira on the broadcast said that Jarvis didn't complete the process of the catch before the KSU defender stripped the ball and that the officials made the right call.
 

chuckd4735

Well-Known Member
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 29, 2006
29,585
12,032
113
42
Lee's Summit, MO
Mike Pereira on the broadcast said that Jarvis didn't complete the process of the catch before the KSU defender stripped the ball and that the officials made the right call.

So he was saying Jarvis never had possession, I understand it then. The pic in this thread makes it look like Jarvis has possession to me. If Jarvis has possession and his knee is down, the play is over.
 

cazmaniac

New Member
Dec 21, 2008
24
3
3
He has to maintain control through the catch. Just like if the defender wasn't there and as soon as his shoulders hit the ground and the ball pops out it would have been ruled incomplete even though his knee hit first.
 

algonacy

Well-Known Member
Feb 19, 2012
310
288
63
Iowa
Just because the KSU player has his hands on the ball, does not mean that West doesn't have possession. Again looking at the picture it is clear to me that West has his one hand firmly on top of the ball and the other supporting the side. The KSU player's hand and arm possession are completely irrelevant in the big picture because West firmly has possession. Now I realize that in real-time that may have been hard to determine and the KSU players arm being there could have made it a difficult call. But in my opinion, the reply should have over-turned it. However, I have zero faith in the current replay system and I think it is a huge pile of CYA with all the zebras helping each other out so they all look good.
 

chuckd4735

Well-Known Member
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Mar 29, 2006
29,585
12,032
113
42
Lee's Summit, MO
If he's in the end zone and catches a ball, drops to his knee, then takes a hit and loses the ball it isn't a TD catch...

Because he never had possession technically. All I am saying is from the pic, it looks like he had possession. Obviously this is why still shots don't work in replay.
 

cazmaniac

New Member
Dec 21, 2008
24
3
3
No... Once his knee touches the ground, play is over.

Not true he has to maintain control through the catch in this case he didn't and therefore he did not have possession, had they ruled this a fumble it would have a terrible call because then as soon as his knee hit the play would have been over.
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron