Exactly my point. It is a judgement call. It is not an issue of "understanding the rule" or not. This is not a simple "by rule" situation. The rule as written created a new "gray area" as stated earlier in the thread that I responded to.
Many of us believe first the on field official, then the replay official, erred in their judgement and called the play incorrectly. In our judgement, Jarvis fully possessed the ball with his knees on the ground long enough for the play to be ruled dead at that point.
Reasonable people can disagree on that judgement, but many of us do get offended when we are told we dont understand the rule.
You are right it is a judgement call. But I don't see how people can watch that play and think West was down before the K-State player hit him. It all happened simultaneously. That play is the definition of "process of the catch" requirement.
I guess its your right to think everyone (officials, replay official, announcers, rules experts) but you are in the vast minority.