Last Play ?

dabears32

Well-Known Member
Nov 23, 2009
1,138
229
63
For those of you at the game, did they show a good replay? ESPN didn't show a good one. It looked like the OSU players hand came flying in and probably touched it but they didn't show it clearly and I'd be pissed if that's all they used to overturn a call against us (say us at KU...)
 
  • Informative
Reactions: Drumlum

HFCS

Well-Known Member
Aug 13, 2010
75,680
66,022
113
LA LA Land
I felt like from the two we saw on TV that you couldn't tell either way both on who touched it last and if the OK State player ever touched it out of bounds. I'd have let it stand. Maybe they had something I didn't.

We deserved it anyway, earlier Monte had a super obvious steal the refs blew the call on and gave OK State two completely undeserved points instead of the turnover it should have been. Same player going for a steal later in the game, gets the razor close call.
 

dabears32

Well-Known Member
Nov 23, 2009
1,138
229
63
I think they got it right in the end, but the ESPN angle wasn't particularly conclusive, I agree. The third ref came in and talked to the pair watching the replay and seemed to help them decide. Maybe they were showing a better angle on the big screen.

Yea. I mean if I had to pick one, I would say they made the right call but didn't see enough to overturn. Hopefully someone can provide more insight.
 

jim4

Active Member
Sep 27, 2014
491
221
43
It looked to me like the OSU player only had one foot in bounds when he first touched the ball. I'm not sure if you have to have two feet in bounds to have "established" position on the court, but if you do I think it was the right call.
This is what I am wondering. One foot was still in the air and hadn't touched in bounds since he stepped out of bounds. IF you do need both feet established in bounds(idk whether u do or not), then that had to be the call imo
 

cyrocksmypants

Well-Known Member
Dec 29, 2008
91,284
89,027
113
Washington DC
Amazing play by Monte. I was really hopeful, but every time they showed the replay I just kept saying I didn't see it hitting OSU's guy last. They had to have had different views than we saw on tv.

Side note: obviously I knew where Monte ranked in career steals, but it just never felt to me in his career that he had a bunch of them. He must have just been super consistent with them, because I can't remember any games where it felt like he had a bunch.
 

cyclones500

Well-Known Member
Jan 29, 2010
38,811
26,827
113
Michigan
basslakebeacon.com
The inbounder never established himself inbounds and touched the ball.

I wondered if that was the technical ruling, I was paying attention to his foot and it looked like he was no longer completely out-of-bounds when he touched ball, so if you're correct about establishment, that makes sense.

I admit I didn't expect them to overturn that call. .... What an effort by Monte.
 

CycloneWanderer

Well-Known Member
Nov 4, 2007
8,337
5,687
113
Wandering
Amazing play by Monte. I was really hopeful, but every time they showed the replay I just kept saying I didn't see it hitting OSU's guy last. They had to have had different views than we saw on tv.

Side note: obviously I knew where Monte ranked in career steals, but it just never felt to me in his career that he had a bunch of them. He must have just been super consistent with them, because I can't remember any games where it felt like he had a bunch.

He has been consistently good at jumping passing lanes throughout his career.
 
  • Agree
Reactions: Cyclonepride
D

Deleted member 8507

Guest
It looked to me like the OSU player only had one foot in bounds when he first touched the ball. I'm not sure if you have to have two feet in bounds to have "established" position on the court, but if you do I think it was the right call.
You are half right. The OSU player did have one foot inbounds but he had already lifted his back foot and thus had established in bounds as no part of his body was still touching out of bounds. That said, like everyone else, it was a very close call that was indeterminate from the TV angles shown. I am just happy with their verdict.
 

k123

Well-Known Member
Sep 14, 2011
1,143
1,033
113
Iowa
On the last replay the announcers were looking if his feet were out of bounds (they weren't) but meanwhile that one showed the most clearly (I thought!) that the OSU guy seemed to wave/swipe/follow-through the ball out of bounds behind Morris' hand, with the angle obscured further by their legs.

I think the refs were right to overturn, but was surprised they did (stands vs confirmed, etc).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rick

Cincyclone

Well-Known Member
Feb 5, 2012
3,104
165
48
It looked to me like the OSU player only had one foot in bounds when he first touched the ball. I'm not sure if you have to have two feet in bounds to have "established" position on the court, but if you do I think it was the right call.
Bingo. Official rule states "an airborne player's status shall be where he was last in contact with the floor." So yeah, never established the other foot in bounds.
 

madguy30

Well-Known Member
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Nov 15, 2011
57,279
55,179
113
Yup. I thought I saw the third ref mouth- "Guys, you're in Ames. Don't f*** with Hilton Magic unless it's Kansas, where we'd award KU two points and the ball under their own basket and take 4 seconds off the clock. Tonight though, it's Iowa State's ball".
But, I could be wrong.

FIFY.