Harbor Freight

qwerty

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Apr 3, 2020
Muscatine, IA
I see Harbor Freight will be opening a store in Ames. I have been going to them in eastern Iowa for close to 20 years. They are OK for low cost items. Not exactly commercial quality, but their upper brand tools are good for home use. At least it gives another option, and are comparable to low cost tools at Menards, Lowe's, etc.

Die4Cy

Jan 2, 2010
Some of my favorite tools came from Harbor Freight. They have this extendable handle 1/2 in ratchet that I would not give up willingly, and punches and pry bars there are a good value considering how we treat them. And if you need a buttload of combination wrenches, it's as good a place to get them as any, but they don't carry the extended length ones that they used to. I loved those.

Acylum

Nov 18, 2006
Their Icon brand stuff holds up pretty well vs Snap On, Mac, etc at half the price. Some of their other brands also. If I was a mechanic just starting out I’d buy all Icon hand tools.

Agclone91

Feb 5, 2011
Ames
I used to consider harbor freight tools to be one-time use or disposable, but they have stepped up their quality quite a bit in recent years. Their icon lineup of tools is actually pretty solid and I would say on par or better than Craftsman these days. I've actually started to convert the majority of my hand tools over to Icon.

US general is also one of the best values on the market with toolboxes.

• Agree
Reactions: ISU22CY and Acylum

Cyfan1965

Nov 9, 2016
Iowa
Got wrenches a rivet gun other bits and bobs from them. Good enough quality for me and they are cheaper than Menards or Lowes.

Reactions: zarnold56

Agclone91

Feb 5, 2011
Ames
Aren't their tools considered single use? Kinda like the plastic fork that come with your lunch? :jimlad: