Last 1.7 seconds

tigershoops31

Well-Known Member
Apr 13, 2006
5,486
386
83
Ames
How do we not have the ball out where it was inbounded in front of our bench if they're going to say Babb was fouled before the touch? If the foul happened before the ball was touched it goes back to where it was inbounded.

Ridiculous last 2:00 with the foul after the block on Ejim (when do you ever see that called?) and they kept the count going when Clyburn was on Smart that last possession for probably 7 seconds before the screen picked him off for the last shot. We didn't help ourselves with a couple plays but there were definitely some questionable calls against us. Ughhhhh!
 

cmjh10

Well-Known Member
Dec 5, 2012
22,808
14,912
113
Buffalo Center
Those refs obviously didnt know the ******* rules of basketball. They should get their ***** fired for being complete dooshers. They had a great game and they ruined it by overcalling everything. Then, when it mattered, they folded under the pressure and let the home team steal a win. I hope every player on the team is ****** and comes back and ******* curb stomps Baylor on Saturday.
 

spierceisu

Well-Known Member
Jan 28, 2007
1,122
1,025
113
42
Ankeny
I am also baffled by the foul on Melvin after the block. The other guy was laying on the ground and he didn't fall on him, he took a few steps to go after the ball and got called for it. What is he supposed to do on that one?
 

Bluffers

Active Member
Sep 16, 2009
187
139
43
Ames
I am also baffled by the foul on Melvin after the block. The other guy was laying on the ground and he didn't fall on him, he took a few steps to go after the ball and got called for it. What is he supposed to do on that one?
Seemed to me the guy called the ball out of bounds, when it didn't go out after a great athletic move, he changed the call to the foul. Tough call.
 

tyler24

Well-Known Member
Jun 19, 2006
2,994
3,090
113
Yes...Clyburn was on the ball for at least 5 seconds, I was wondering if they were ever going to call it, luckily for OSU, they didnt.
 

Cycsk

Year-round tailgater
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 17, 2009
28,407
17,339
113
How do we not have the ball out where it was inbounded in front of our bench if they're going to say Babb was fouled before the touch? If the foul happened before the ball was touched it goes back to where it was inbounded.


Yes. I was surprised that nobody on our bench even seemed to be arguing for this.
 

clonedude

Well-Known Member
Apr 16, 2006
33,032
29,272
113
Yes. I was surprised that nobody on our bench even seemed to be arguing for this.

You should know by now that you will never see that happen. It's just the way it is.

The way we are getting screwed over by the refs on the road in the last couple minutes though is really starting to make me wonder if the refs realize that the ISU bench will not get on them for bad calls?
 

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
4,622
4,930
113
Yes...Clyburn was on the ball for at least 5 seconds, I was wondering if they were ever going to call it, luckily for OSU, they didnt.

I watched the replay of this a few times. The ref would start counting but then would signal that he was not within 5 feet (based on his feet not his hands or body).
 

Cycsk

Year-round tailgater
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 17, 2009
28,407
17,339
113
I watched the replay of this a few times. The ref would start counting but then would signal that he was not within 5 feet (based on his feet not his hands or body).


I can't recall ever seeing that call in a game-deciding situation.
 

Cycsk

Year-round tailgater
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 17, 2009
28,407
17,339
113
I can't remember specifics but I'm pretty sure I have seen KU get this call on two separate occasions in the final minute of a game when it was a one possession game or less.

Of course, KU gets this call! Probably at home also! :unsure:
 

berther48

Active Member
Jul 10, 2009
476
36
28
76
Sioux City, Iowa
Yes. I was surprised that nobody on our bench even seemed to be arguing for this.

I assume they where all concerned about the time rather than the inbound spot. But both were critical to winning the game. I feel since we got the 1.7 seconds, meaning no time off, because no possession, we would get the ball at the original point of entry. Needless to say choas reigned.

Rebound on Sat. and win at home.
Go Cyclones!
 

IcSyU

Well-Known Member
Nov 27, 2007
28,298
6,959
113
I assume they where all concerned about the time rather than the inbound spot. But both were critical to winning the game. I feel since we got the 1.7 seconds, meaning no time off, because no possession, we would get the ball at the original point of entry. Needless to say choas reigned.

Rebound on Sat. and win at home.
Go Cyclones!
The applicable rules straight from the NCAA rulebook:

Rule 7 Section 6 Article 1:
Section 6. Throw-inArt. 1. The throw-in shall start and the throw-in team shall have team control when the ball is at the disposal of a player entitled to the throw-in.

Rule 10 Section 1 Penalty Section 1 Part A
PENALTY: (Section 1) Personal fouls apply toward the team-foul total and toward an individual’s five personal fouls for disqualification. The ball shall be put back in play by the offended player/team as follows:
a. A throw-in (no free throws) nearest to where the foul occurred for:
1. Each common foul before the bonus rule takes effect.
2. A player-control personal foul.
3. A team-control foul.
 
  • Like
Reactions: InAWord

ruxCYtable

Well-Known Member
Aug 29, 2007
7,371
4,373
113
Colorado
How do we not have the ball out where it was inbounded in front of our bench if they're going to say Babb was fouled before the touch? If the foul happened before the ball was touched it goes back to where it was inbounded.
This has already been discussed ad-nauseam today and you are wrong. Really becoming quite surprised at how many people thought this was the rule.
 

IcSyU

Well-Known Member
Nov 27, 2007
28,298
6,959
113
This has already been discussed ad-nauseam today and you are wrong. Really becoming quite surprised at how many people thought this was the rule.
I know because I messed it up in a middle school game last year and looked up the rule after the game. :wideeyed:
 

Clones85'

Just Win Baby
Jan 31, 2007
13,242
645
113
This has already been discussed ad-nauseam today and you are wrong. Really becoming quite surprised at how many people thought this was the rule.

He posted the question last night right after the game. Nice try though.
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron