Do I really need a credit score?

DeereClone

Nov 16, 2009
I am graduating in the spring and looking to buy a home to move into immediately after graduation. I haven't ever had a credit card and don't have a credit score. It is my understanding that a credit score is absolutely necessary to buy a house and get a mortgage, is this true?

I will have 20% for a down payment and on a 15 year fixed rate mortgage my payments will be below 25% of my monthly income. (for the price range that I am looking at).

I guess I feel that if a college grad has no debt, the down payment in hand, and a stable income that easily supports the house payment, they should realize that I am a good money manager and they shouldn't need a credit score.

TIA for your comments!

ISUAgronomist

Nov 5, 2009
On the farm, IA
They'll pull your scores for sure.

20% down, low debt ratio, and small payment:income will help you.

Just speaking from previous buying experience.

The big banks will probably have issues approving you with a "lack of history" but a credit union or small town bank will likely be more willing to work with you especially with 20% up front.

Last edited:

Rabbuk

Mar 1, 2011
You could get a credit card and just make like one purchase a month on it and pay that in full. I've been doing that for about 4 years now.

stateofmind

Jul 16, 2007
Ankeny
That is an interesting case. I'd be surprised if you don't have a credit rating, even without credit cards. My guess is the right lender will give you a loan, but the interest rate may not be the best. If nothing else, get some credit cards and use them as credit. Build your credit AND earn some nice kickback perks. We use our card for everything we can, then pay it off every month. Every few months we deposit a $250 check for using it.

TallKidIsTall

Mar 4, 2012
Fairfield
good credit score equals lower interest rates