DSM area art classes

SuperCy

Nov 30, 2006
Smallville/Metropolis
My nephew is 9 years old and is really interested in drawing. He's drawn up comic books for us in the past. My wife and I take care of alot of his needs because his parents can't or don't know how. We're looking for something to get him involved in. He's a good kid, but I think he just lacks some confidence. I've looked on the Art Center's website. They offer a drawing/comic book class. I'll look into it again this summer. I have no background in this area so I'm not sure where to look. Are there other places that offer classes? Art stores? Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Psiclone

Apr 11, 2006
My nephew is 9 years old and is really interested in drawing. He's drawn up comic books for us in the past. My wife and I take care of alot of his needs because his parents can't or don't know how. We're looking for something to get him involved in. He's a good kid, but I think he just lacks some confidence. I've looked on the Art Center's website. They offer a drawing/comic book class. I'll look into it again this summer. I have no background in this area so I'm not sure where to look. Are there other places that offer classes? Art stores? Any help would be appreciated.

I believe that the Des Moines Art Center offers a number of classes for kids. I would start there to see what they have or, if they do not offer what you want, they would be a great resource for getting names of other people who teach.

GoCubsGo

Jul 22, 2008
Check out the Des Moines Public Schools Community Education programs:

www.dmced.org

There is an amazing variety of activities available. Here is one that I'm cutting and pasting from the "Arts and Crafts" section:

Right Brain Drawing, Introduction

Tell a Friend about this Course