Motor oil question

CloneGuy8

Mar 20, 2017
I have 3 cars. 2 over 130k miles and 1 over 200k miles. Between full synthetic and high mileage, which will extend the life of the engines the most? I'm guessing full synthetic, but I'm no expert by any means.

Cyrealist

Sep 25, 2013
I have 3 cars. 2 over 130k miles and 1 over 200k miles. Between full synthetic and high mileage, which will extend the life of the engines the most? I'm guessing full synthetic, but I'm no expert by any means.
I'm no mechanic, but I'd think those engines already have a fair amount of wear. Nearly all motor oils have a lot of synthetic in them. If I was picking, I might choose Valvoline high mileage, but any good quality oil should be fine. Don't let it get low and keep up with the changes and the oil isn't likely to be the reason for a failure.

NodawayRiverClone

May 1, 2018
Most internal engine damage occurs at startup when parts have little oil coating. Synthetic blends probably leave enough coating to minimize damage. If you want more, compare the cost of using full synthetic with oil additives such as Rislone.

flycy

Jul 17, 2008
Crescent, IA
The high mileage generally add a rubber softener to help with hardened seals. I prefer full synthetic and would only use high mileage if you had some leaks that maybe it would seal. I generally get the synthetic Quaker State in the green bottles at Menards or Walmart. Just over 20 for 5 quarts and scores very well in independent testing.

• Informative
Reactions: NWICY

BCClone

Well Seen Member.
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Sep 4, 2011
Not exactly sure.
I run a synthetic/regular blend the whole time. No issues. Make sure to check the oil and if it leaks or uses any to check and keep filling more often.

2speedy1

Jan 4, 2014
Quite honest, the most important is, regular maintenance, and quality parts.