Potential Measles Exposure

FriendlySpartan

Jul 26, 2021
Hey I don’t like starting threads but considering Iowa is fairly religious and that over 250 universities were represented I wanted to pass along an email I just got.
***edit- sorry I’m an emergency physician which is why I was sent that. A very smart mod reminded me that I should probably include that info.

Dear Providers:

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) is forwarding information from Kentucky health officials for awareness regarding a potential measles exposure during a large "spiritual revival" event held on the campus of Asbury University in Wilmore, Kentucky during early to mid-February. This was reportedly a spontaneous event without ticketing or registration. The event attracted attendees primarily through social media from all over the nation. Although the event was open to all, many of the attendees were families with children.

Unofficial tallies also indicated that more than 250 college and universities were represented. Please see the link below for the official press release from Kentucky.

An individual who reported attending the event on February 18, 2023 has since tested positive for measles. Measles is a highly contagious respiratory virus that is spread through the air. Early symptoms of measles are similar to other upper respiratory illnesses with symptoms including fever, cough, conjunctivitis and runny nose. With measles, a characteristic rash develops three to five days after symptoms begin. All individuals who attended the event on February 18, 2023 and are unvaccinated for measles with no previous history of a measles infection are encouraged to quarantine for 21 days

Last edited:

BCClone

Well Seen Member.
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Sep 4, 2011
Not exactly sure.