Should I hire a financial advisor?

HGoat

Dec 18, 2014
Denver, Colorado
I'm a research scientist in my mid 20's, and am lucky to be well off. I have a stable job making ~75k a year, no auto/student loan debt, and am very happy with my situation. My only real expense is rent which is about $800 per month.

I have been putting the max percent that my company will match (6%) from each paycheck towards my 401k for retirement. I put another large chunk into a higher interest online savings account and at this point have close to 15k in savings, which is more than enough for an emergency fund.

What should I do with some of that extra money? Should I hire a financial advisor to help me with these decisions? Will that person just tell me to put 20k into an index fund? I'm very hesitant to do so because they seem like used car salesman, especially if their compensation is all commission based. I know that some CFP's are fiduciary and are required to have their clients best interest in mind, but I am still weary about the whole process. I have a master's degree in the hard sciences, and I know that I'm smart enough to manage my own money. I do have some interest, but I have a lot of questions. I know it will take some time to learn best practices, and I don't know if it is worth it to go through all that trouble if I can hire someone to do it for me. I don't know if a financial advisor will do that much better of a job than I could learn to do myself. Especially considering some of the people I know that are now successful financial planners for major firms. It makes me think maybe I could do a much better job on my own. What has your experience been with financial advisors?

Last edited:
Reactions: isu_oak

Cyched

CF Influencer
May 8, 2009
Denver, CO
Can’t speak to the financial advisor advice, but being in your 20s with your finances seemingly in order I wouldn’t think you’d need an advisor.