Studying Abroad

dualthreat

Oct 8, 2008
Anyone care to share their experiences while studying abroad?

Where did you go? What were your expectations? Reasons for or against it? What did you gain from it?

I have the opportunity to study for one month this July in South Korea on scholarship. It's an amazing opportunity but I'm getting cold feet about it.

CEcyclone

Dec 15, 2011
Lenexa, KS

Where did you go? What were your expectations? Reasons for or against it? What did you gain from it?

I have the opportunity to study for one month this July in South Korea on scholarship. It's an amazing opportunity but I'm getting cold feet about it.

Do it!

I studied in Argentina fora semester, life changing!

CarlHungus

Feb 19, 2012
Ankeny

I never did it, but I wish I had looking back on it. It's a once in a lifetime experience and gives you a chance to experience a different culture. I would say go for it.

AlaCyclone

Jun 14, 2007
Go for it! I spent a summer in South Africa on an exchange program. Go see the world and LEARN.

pourcyne

Feb 19, 2011
Dude, it's ONE month. You can do anything for one month, and even if it's horrible, you will have GREAT stories to tell.

What's more, willingness to travel abroad shows that you're adventurous...a lot of employers like that. Puts you ahead of the people who never set foot outside of Iowa, that's for sure.

Don't chicken out. Go.

I've lived, worked, and studied abroad. The experiences changed my life, as well as my outlook on life.

Go.

Go. Go. Go.

cowgirl836

Sep 3, 2009
I went to the UK for 2.5 weeks as a travel course. Now, very close friends were with me on that trip so I can't say how it would have been had I been alone..........but I loved all of it. One of the friends stayed behind in Scotland for the rest of the summer and I know she did get lonely because she lived alone in the country with no car. But I highly doubt that would be the case in South Korea!