Taking my 2017 high school grad on visit to campus tomorrow

Cycsk

Year-round tailgater
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 17, 2009
Stop by the football facility. I hear the staff is really welcoming to guests.

BikeSkiClone

Jul 25, 2014
A lot has changed in the five years since I graduated...30 it'll probably be a different world. I was just browsing some old aerial photos of Ames & ISU from the Ames Historical Society website. (very cool stuff for anyone interested)

Are you taking any sort of official tour (do they even do those in the summer?). Even if so, take time to just wander around campus and take it all in. Most buildings should be open since classes are in session. Stop by the admin office of whatever dept(s) your child is interested in and grab flyers for programs of interest, see if an advisor or faculty member has 10 minutes to chat, read the bulletin boards to see what kind of research and projects faculty have been doing. Grab a bite to eat somewhere in Campustown or otherwise near campus. Second the vote to visit the football facility, at least to look around.

Man I miss Ames and Iowa State.

Jambalaya

May 29, 2008
If she has a couple friends leaning toward Hawkdumb, take them with you. there are many stories of tag-alongs on their way to U of Iowa, who switch to ISU after visiting Ames with their cyclone-to-be friend

Chitowncy

SuperFanatic
Jan 14, 2009
Ames
Perfect day to visit campus. I agree with the suggestions above (West Street Deli is a good lunch spot, so is Cafe Beaudelaire in Campustown or Thai Kitchen). Also, if your child is into recreation, definitely take him or her to State Gym to see the facility. It is just remarkable how well they redid all that. If it's been thirty years, I think the last time you were on campus that parking lot and addition to State Gym was a track and a vestige of Clyde Williams Field.