Tips for Building a New Home

Cloneon

Oct 29, 2015
West Virginia
It all ends with the sound of a toilet flushing. I'm a builder. Material costs are getting out of hand. Try to find skilled labor these days, and if you do somebody that will actually work. I'm not building in Iowa and not sure what the labor market's like there now, but pick up some Spanish. Honestly, would rather work with a group of Hispanics as I would white folks these days. What's going on people? What happened to moral character? Spend have my time dealing with problems. Theft, lies, laziness, intentional sabotage..freaking sick trying to get anything done. Learned to back off and not take anything on I can't do myself. I honestly wouldn't build new. Find a fixer upper. You're still going to get nailed in this market, but you're looking for a headache it you want to throw something new up right now.
I couldn't agree more. The work ethic has tanked. And those that are left are few and far between. And whether you like it or not, we all are subjected to inflation and degrading product quality. Heck, I found myself doing a detached office 100% myself. Design, engineering, purchasing, and building from scratch. If I'd hired someone, it would've costed $50k just for the labor, would most certainly have been delayed, and built poorly. My passion has been modular residential construction since as far back as my Architecture degree at Iowa State in 1982. Yet, the industry has been mired in restricted innovation, ridiculous government intervention, lack of health concerns, and poor quality. As with so much in life, something is going to eventually give. Not sure what. But, something.

flycy

Jul 17, 2008
Crescent, IA