What's your major?

jsmith86

Dec 5, 2006
Cedar Rapids
What did you major in? BS? or grad school? or no degree? Is there anything else you would have done had it not been for money/time/difficulty of courses etc. ? Did you double major? Is your current job related in any way, shape, or form to what you went to school for or what you did in school?

For example, I'm majoring in ChE, and would like to go to grad school for nuclear or petroleum engineering. If it weren't for the whole starting over thing or the lack of pay in the jobs thing, I would've liked to have majored in Philosophy or Economics. In my experience with internships, those used only a small part of what I learned in school, mostly they just used the problem solving skills that I have picked up along the way.

joefrog

Apr 29, 2008
Clive, Iowa
What did you major in? BS? or grad school? or no degree? Is there anything else you would have done had it not been for money/time/difficulty of courses etc. ? Did you double major? Is your current job related in any way, shape, or form to what you went to school for or what you did in school?

For example, I'm majoring in ChE, and would like to go to grad school for nuclear or petroleum engineering. If it weren't for the whole starting over thing or the lack of pay in the jobs thing, I would've liked to have majored in Philosophy or Economics. In my experience with internships, those used only a small part of what I learned in school, mostly they just used the problem solving skills that I have picked up along the way.

You just figured out half of what you should have learned in college. Congratulations! Now learn how to work with others and get along with people and your education will be complete. You have taken your first step into a larger world!

As for me, Poli Sci degree, with an Entrepeneurial Studies minor.

pyrocyz

Jun 2, 2006
Ames
Masters student in Mechanical Engineering and Biorenewable Resources and Technologies

CyGuy33

May 7, 2008