***2023-24 College Football Thread***

AlaCyclone

Well-Known Member
Jun 14, 2007
5,585
6,785
113
The way you explained it first was on a kickoff, and there is an exception to that and allows the ball to be placed at the 25 even for an invalid signal. If it was a punt it was the same thing.

I’m curious to see it, do you know approximately when it was in the game?
Apologies for the confusion. Not intentional. It was in the 2nd half. It was pivotal, but Alabama outscored Tennessee 27-0 in the 2nd half. I thought that it should come out to the 25 too, but I might have missed something. I was not 100% paying attention at the time. Just know that they called an invalid fair catch signal (which is what I was saying was the same thing), and Tennessee started on the 3 yard line. Definitely thought it was kind of hokie, as I assumed a fair catch on the Kickoff should have put the ball on the 25. Perhaps, the kickoff bounced and was not caught in the air? Just not sure!
 
  • Like
Reactions: AllInForISU

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
4,623
4,931
113
No, same thing. Tennessee was called for a player waving his arms to get away from the ball, before catching it and running. I will say, that I was ignorant of the rule and thought Tennessee got a raw deal, but from what I am reading, it sounds like the same thing that Iowa did.

I found it. That looks to me to be an incorrect spot based on the exception in the rulebook.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AlaCyclone

theshadow

Well-Known Member
Apr 19, 2006
19,976
19,638
113
On a kickoff they do. Section 5-Article 3-Exception.

If the player who signaled is the same as the player who caught the ball, then it goes to the 25.

If player A signals and player B catches, then it's at the spot. That was the call from Bama-Tenn.
 
  • Informative
Reactions: AlaCyclone

Pitt_Clone

Well-Known Member
Nov 15, 2007
13,662
16,426
113
Pittsburgh, PA
It should amplify the heat on BF. A reasonable offense only needs 20 yards for a game winning field goal attempt. And this is with 1:32 remaining and a timeout.

And for the record, I hope he stays
As little as they needed I was surprised they didn't even try to run the ball, given how Hall was throwing. Three straight passes. The genius of Brain.
 

AlaCyclone

Well-Known Member
Jun 14, 2007
5,585
6,785
113
Oh no! Leading 27-24 with under five minutes to play, UVA fumbled on the one-yard line, and it went out of the end zone for a touchback.
 

NoCreativity

Well-Known Member
Nov 12, 2015
12,460
10,784
113
Des Moines
Finally seeing the video, I agree his intent wasn’t to call fair catch.

But also no question in my mind a couple of the gophers pursuing him interpreted (or at least were unsure) and let up on the play. Only when the first guy missed the tackle and the play continued did they resume trying to tackle him.

So intent is irrelevant, it impacted the kick coverage and should have been flagged. If that happened to ISU I’d be pissed about it too though
Yeah, the entire sequence was really weird watching it live. I know DeJean is good but I was shocked how easily he was able to elude all those defenders around him at once.

After watching the replay again, it does appear a few of the Minnesota players let up.
 
  • Agree
Reactions: aauummm

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
4,623
4,931
113
If the player who signaled is the same as the player who caught the ball, then it goes to the 25.

If player A signals and player B catches, then it's at the spot. That was the call from Bama-Tenn.

Agree. That call was correct after looking at it again. Section 6-5-3 VI

Basically, if you aren’t going to be the player to catch it, don’t signal anything.
 
  • Informative
Reactions: AlaCyclone

AlaCyclone

Well-Known Member
Jun 14, 2007
5,585
6,785
113
Wahoos survive the Tar Heel assault, but they still need to run out the clock with 3:12 to play, and UNC has all three time-outs left.
 

Latest posts

Help Support Us

Become a patron