Continuation rule question

ISU_Clone_28

Well-Known Member
Mar 27, 2006
867
440
63
Fort Dodge, IA
Having a discussion with a couple buddies and seeing if we can get some perspective from some that may be more familiar with the continuation rule. Last week Jarvis West had that play where the knee was down but the continuation rule helped the KState defender take possession and resulted in a turn over.

In the second half of the Iowa game the ISU defender came away with the ball on the way to the ground with the Iowa receiver showing possession and a knee down but ended up losing it on the way down but the Iowa offense retained possession with the officials stating the player was down. Again I'm not sure what the difference between the two were and how the play in the Iowa game was different from the play in the ISU/KSU game.
 

jdoggivjc

Well-Known Member
Sep 27, 2006
61,630
23,889
113
Macomb, MI
Iowa State player didn't establish possession by making a football move (falling to the ground doesn't count) when he fumbled the ball.

Iowa player had long established possession by running upfield with the ball and was down when he fumbled.
 

3TrueFans

Just a Happily Married Man
Sep 10, 2009
63,255
61,959
113
Ames
Jarvis never caught the pass since he didn't maintain control throughout contact with the ground, the Iowa player had already established possession so he was down as soon as his knee hit. Thread over.
 

khardbored

Well-Known Member
Oct 20, 2012
10,238
7,581
113
Middle of the Midwest
I have a friend who is a DIII official. He told me that this year they explained it like this: "Can the receiver stand up and hand you [the official] the ball? If not, it probably wasn't a completed/ "finished" catch."
 

Help Support Us

Become a patron