Sideline Rules (in KU/OU game)

randomfan44

Well-Known Member
May 30, 2015
7,512
3,703
113
On that first interference, I am wondering if that is just something the refs aren't looking for, and they're looking at the rebounders instead. I remember a couple other instances where a player knocked a ball out from the hoop and the refs didn't notice. Maybe it's like Woodbury on the tips, they just don't have good coverage of something like that.
There's three of them and a million other things to watch. I see it happen at least once a game in every game I watch. After all the aneurysms I read on here over a few times Embiid had it happen a few years back, I notice it more.
 

randomfan44

Well-Known Member
May 30, 2015
7,512
3,703
113
If you watch the video, Mason clearly broke the plane of the sideline with his hands/arm, a violation. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.
Dear god, let it go. That happens in EVERY GAME and on virtually every inbounds play where pressure is applied. Watch McKay defend an inbounds play some time. The kids arms are like ten feet long. He'd have to stand on the other side of the court for his arms not to cross the freaking plane. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.
 

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
4,627
4,933
113
If you watch the video, Mason clearly broke the plane of the sideline with his hands/arm, a violation. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.

Not a violation unless he touches the ball when the ball is behind the plane.
 

randomfan44

Well-Known Member
May 30, 2015
7,512
3,703
113
If you watch the video, Mason clearly broke the plane of the sideline with his hands/arm, a violation. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise. The integrity of the game would have better served if the ref allowed a fair amount of room.
Yes, the "integrity of the game". My avatar picture is the "foul" by Mason that led to Self's technical...
 

CyTwins

Well-Known Member
Jan 20, 2010
80,179
65,792
113
Ankeny
Dear god, let it go. That happens in EVERY GAME and on virtually every inbounds play where pressure is applied. Watch McKay defend an inbounds play some time. The kids arms are like ten feet long. He'd have to stand on the other side of the court for his arms not to cross the freaking plane. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.

Are they longer than Diallo's?
 

Cycsk

Year-round tailgater
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 17, 2009
28,470
17,489
113
There's three of them and a million other things to watch. I see it happen at least once a game in every game I watch. After all the aneurysms I read on here over a few times Embiid had it happen a few years back, I notice it more.


Was it ever called on Embiid? I remember him doing it all the time.
 

Cycsk

Year-round tailgater
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Aug 17, 2009
28,470
17,489
113
Not a violation unless he touches the ball when the ball is behind the plane.


Ahem. Have you read some of the other posts in this thread that quote the rulebook:

"No opponent of the thrower-in shall have any part of his person over theinside plane of the boundary line."
 

Doc

This is it Morty
Aug 6, 2006
37,437
21,963
113
Denver
Watch McKay defend an inbounds play some time. The kids arms are like ten feet long. He'd have to stand on the other side of the court for his arms not to cross the freaking plane. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.

Link?
 

AllInForISU

Well-Known Member
Nov 24, 2012
4,627
4,933
113
Ahem. Have you read some of the other posts in this thread that quote the rulebook:

"No opponent of the thrower-in shall have any part of his person over theinside plane of the boundary line."

My apologies, I meant that it is only a technical foul if he touches the ball before it crosses the plane. Can you can tell by the video he was over the inside part of the plane?

Buddy should have used the 3 foot area to get around Mason. Only needing one foot in that space gives him basically 6 feet to work with.
 

Doc

This is it Morty
Aug 6, 2006
37,437
21,963
113
Denver
My apologies, I meant that it is only a technical foul if he touches the ball before it crosses the plane. Can you can tell by the video he was over the inside part of the plane?

Buddy should have used the 3 foot area to get around Mason. Only needing one foot in that space gives him basically 6 feet to work with.

I think you get 3 feet, but you aren't allowed to move too much or they'll call you for a travel. I don't think Buddy could have moved from side to side much.
 

jcyclonee

Well-Known Member
Apr 12, 2006
23,283
26,194
113
Minneapolis
Dear god, let it go. That happens in EVERY GAME and on virtually every inbounds play where pressure is applied. Watch McKay defend an inbounds play some time. The kids arms are like ten feet long. He'd have to stand on the other side of the court for his arms not to cross the freaking plane. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.
tumblr_inline_niavf6QPnS1syf5wo.gif

This is my last post on this subject.
 

Doc

This is it Morty
Aug 6, 2006
37,437
21,963
113
Denver
Dear god, let it go. That happens in EVERY GAME and on virtually every inbounds play where pressure is applied. Watch McKay defend an inbounds play some time. The kids arms are like ten feet long. He'd have to stand on the other side of the court for his arms not to cross the freaking plane. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.

Here are a few quick and random screenshots from when ISU was pressing against Iowa at the end of the game. McKay doesn't appear to be broaching the line. You're the clueless homer here, just making **** up about McKay.
attachment.php
attachment.php

attachment.php
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0003.PNG
    IMG_0003.PNG
    123.9 KB · Views: 305
  • IMG_0004.PNG
    IMG_0004.PNG
    124.4 KB · Views: 299
  • IMG_0006.PNG
    IMG_0006.PNG
    123.5 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_0007.PNG
    IMG_0007.PNG
    123.9 KB · Views: 294

jcyclonee

Well-Known Member
Apr 12, 2006
23,283
26,194
113
Minneapolis
Here are a few quick and random screenshots from when ISU was pressing against Iowa at the end of the game. McKay doesn't appear to be broaching the line. You're the clueless homer here, just making **** up about McKay.
attachment.php
attachment.php

attachment.php
My favorite part is seeing Woodbury break to the ball in the backcourt in the 82-79 image.
 

wonkadog

Well-Known Member
Apr 17, 2006
4,857
399
83
Ames, IA
The only Apology that should be issued by the Big 12 is for the foul call against Mason at the end of the first half by the ref standing directly behind the OU player who could not possibly have seen if a foul was even committed (which it wasn't) and which resulted in Bill Self getting a technical, OU getting three points instead of the run out layup for Mason and Mason having to play the rest of the game with more fouls than he earned.

That's a 50/50 call that will sometimes get missed because the official covering the ball is straightlined. At that point they have to guess and live with the call. He obviously guessed wrong and about everyone else in the entire building had a better angle to see the play, but that doesn't give your God of a coach the right to go off like a complete jackwagon.
 

WalkingCY

Well-Known Member
Sep 26, 2008
6,895
2,592
113
Kansas City
Still not as bad as say a guy clearly fouling someone for their 5th overall foul, only to have it called on someone else. (So that he continued to play during regulation and in OT.)

Oh, and an obvious charge with a "no-call" then call a foul on the guy that just got plowed over by said player.... to allow free throws to send the game into OT.



Cough - Robbed KSU of outright Big 12 title - cough.
 

digZ

Well-Known Member
Sep 2, 2011
1,838
214
48
36
Colorado
Dear god, let it go. That happens in EVERY GAME and on virtually every inbounds play where pressure is applied. Watch McKay defend an inbounds play some time. The kids arms are like ten feet long. He'd have to stand on the other side of the court for his arms not to cross the freaking plane. Only a complete moron or clueless homer could argue otherwise.

Do you even geometry bro?