Should we make a change at Head wrestling Coach?

iastatefan1

Jan 24, 2016
I think it is time to make a change, however before we jump the gun we need to make sure that we can hire a great coach to replace Jackson. I am not an expert on the landscape of college wrestling coaches but a reactionary firing and hiring of an equal, worse, or slightly better coach won't accomplish anything. Jackson is recruiting so if we have to be patient for a year or whatever to hire a great coach we wont have an empty cupboard.

ca4cy

Dec 6, 2009
North Central IA
1962Dr. Harold Nichols12-1-13rd30th
Sorry for the temporary derail, but wth happened at Nationals in '62? That was totally out of the norm for Nic's era and the rest of the season seemed respectable. Did we have some injuries between conference and nationals or something?

isuska

Jun 22, 2011
Ankeny, IA
1962Dr. Harold Nichols12-1-13rd30th
Sorry for the temporary derail, but wth happened at Nationals in '62? That was totally out of the norm for Nic's era and the rest of the season seemed respectable. Did we have some injuries between conference and nationals or something?
Looking at this PDF of the 1962 brackets: http://nwhof.org/NCAA-Brackets/PDF/NCAA 1962.pdf if you didn't lose to one of the finalists, you didn't participate in the Consolations

Hoiball92

Apr 23, 2015
Des Moines
Not really. 79 wrestling programs is way down from 10 years ago. How many will last another 10 years? 20 years? 30? At least baseball has staying power and the potential for TV revenue. Wrestling will never earn a significant amount from TV.

And our goal at ISU is 1st place, not 12th. If we can no longer achieve that, which we have not done in like 30 years, then it's time to call it quits.
There's no money in college baseball unless you're LSU. And what TV revenue? When's the last time you saw a big 12 team play on TV?

Schfinkter

Dec 3, 2008
Dandy's House