Any Data Scientists/Analysts out there?

HGoat

Dec 18, 2014
Denver, Colorado
Any of my fellow cyclones in this field?

I'm currently working as a research scientist in the pharmaceutical field. I don't run any of the analysis or statistics of our data sets on our research studies. We have our own statistics department and I'm just in charge of the "in life" phase of the studies. But because of the amount of time I spend with these data sets, I have a lot of interest in biostatistics and data science.

Further down the line, I think this may be something I'd like to pursue for a career. While I have limited experience with SAS, R, Python, etc., I think that I have a lot of the foundational skills to succeed as a biostatistician/data scientist. While I find the ability to mine large data sets to produce meaningful insight interesting, I am mostly allured by the lifestyle.. I currently have to work weekends about once a month and have many 10-12 hour days. Our biostatisticians work remotely, have very flexible schedules and many travel an amount that is just not possible because of the nature of my current job.

In a couple of years if I leveraged my experience and education correctly, I think I could get my company or another company to take a chance on me as a biostatisctician/data scientist. As I mentioned earlier, I think I have most of the foundational skills(big picture problem solving, strong quantitative abilities and some experience with statistical analysis). My concern would be that I don't have experience with the industry data tools and techniques that would allow me to come in and be productive on day one of a new job as a data scientist. I know that the industry is quickly evolving, which can also make things intimidating. I'm a little concerned that if I start to learn SAS or R, by the time I'm adequate at it, it will have became obsolete.

So, to those of you who are in the field: