Nice Restaurants in Des Moines .

DFWClone

Aug 19, 2013
I'm looking to take a lady to a nice restaurant in Des Moines. Anyone have any suggestions. Price isn't an issue and maybe more of a steak house type place. I don't really know the area that well (I'm an out of state student) and some people with knowledge of the area would be appreciated.

TIA

Agclone91

Feb 5, 2011
Ames
If you're looking for a true steakhouse you can't go wrong with Rubes in Waukee. It's a grill your own steak place though so I dont know how well that will go over for V-Day. Kinda pricey too depending on what cut you get. For your meal and a couple beers your probably looking at about $35-$40 per person.

19clone91

Nov 21, 2013
Denver, CO
I've heard of someplace called Out Back? Or maybe it was Outback... I can't remember. Heard good things

sweetiecy

Sep 24, 2009
Ankeny
Price is no object? Baru 66...very cutting edge and fantastic!

801 has a boring menu. Great steaks, but very staid.

Latin King is a great Italian steakhouse...slightly less expensive & a wonderful menu. Great supper-club atmosphere, and hard to get a seat on the weekends. If you have a special occasion, I would call and talk to the owner (he is ALWAYS there)...he will accommodate. Have the amaretto-spiked coffee and tiramisu for dessert!

jbindm

Dec 2, 2010
Des Moines
Christopher's in Beaverdale. Can't go wrong with their prime rib. There are more upscale spots like the aforementioned 801 chophouse and Fleming's over by Jordan Creek, but Christopher's is very good for the price. Bistro Montage on Ingersoll is a good but expensive option.

Reactions: algonacy

pourcyne

Feb 19, 2011
Take her to the 801 Chop House for the old-time 1920's atmosphere, retro booths, linen tablecloths. Very classy.

Do NOT, whatever you do, go to Splash (if it's still open). It's like Long John Silver's on LSD with snotty wait staff and dead fish in their aquariums.

• Agree
  • Funny
Reactions: DrClone and StClone

jbindm

Dec 2, 2010