real estate commission

jt tailgater

May 22, 2006
thinking of listing house in a few months. Any realtors on here or any that have sold a home lately? Question is; since the market is so slow, how far will realtors come off the full 7%? Have negotiated 6% on last sell 6 yrs ago, any possibility on anything less?

Covenant Clone

Aug 30, 2006
Clive
I am a realtor, 6% is the pretty much the norm in the market now a days. You will have a hard time getting less than that because when agents take less than the market it doesn't sit well with other firms in town. Avg. time on the market has definitely changed in this environment.

dosry5

Nov 28, 2006
Johnston
We sold our home in October. Our realtor screwed up, cost us money, and in then end we almost lost the buyer. We ended up using the officer manager in our realtor's office to close the deal. They wouldn't even give us the tiniest of breaks on the rate when we requested compensation.

I guess $500 bucks was more important to them than my future business or having me trash them to anyone and everyone I know who is buying and/or selling. We ended up using a new realtor and different company for buying our new place.

My point? I don't think you're going to get a break---especially with this new $15,000 tax credit looking like a done deal.

brianhos

Staff member
Bookie
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jun 1, 2006
Trenchtown
We sold our home in October. Our realtor screwed up, cost us money, and in then end we almost lost the buyer. We ended up using the officer manager in our realtor's office to close the deal. They wouldn't even give us the tiniest of breaks on the rate when we requested compensation.

I guess $500 bucks was more important to them than my future business or having me trash them to anyone and everyone I know who is buying and/or selling. We ended up using a new realtor and different company for buying our new place.