NCAA STATEMENT: Says nothing

ChrisMWilliams

Publisher
Staff member
Bookie
Apr 10, 2006
25,238
50,432
113
41
Bondurant, Iowa
www.CycloneFanatic.com
Response from John Adams, NCAA National Coordinator of Men's Basketball Officiating, to pool reporter in Dayton regarding Ohio State-Iowa State game:

"I spoke with the official, and he determined the defender established legal guarding position outside the restricted area prior to the offensive players leaving the floor to start his shot. When asked, the official said he did not see the defender's foot over the restricted area line. By rule, this is not a reviewable play."
 

CyArob

Why are you the way that you are?
Apr 22, 2011
32,496
13,442
113
MN
Response from John Adams, NCAA National Coordinator of Men's Basketball Officiating, to pool reporter in Dayton regarding Ohio State-Iowa State game:

"I spoke with the official, and he determined the defender established legal guarding position outside the restricted area prior to the offensive players leaving the floor to start his shot. When asked, the official said he did not see the defender's foot over the restricted area line. By rule, this is not a reviewable play."

Wait, wut? Of course the official who called it is going to say he got it right.
 

Trice

Well-Known Member
Apr 1, 2010
7,331
12,223
113
Why is this foot thing the controversy? Craft wasn't set when Clyburn left his feed. Period, end of sentence. It's really a far simpler call than it's being portrayed.
 

Spam

Well-Known Member
May 21, 2008
7,996
2,666
113
ISU needs to issue a response to this statement based on Clyburn's version of events
 

3TrueFans

Just a Happily Married Man
Sep 10, 2009
63,258
61,960
113
Ames
So he got it wrong on every account, legal defending position, offensive player in the air, inside the circle. Way to go!
 

gocubs2118

Well-Known Member
Mar 31, 2006
18,599
2,829
113
37
Illinois
The part that bugs the **** out of me is it looks like the ref is about to call a block and then in the middle of making the block motion, he changes it to a charge. Look at the replay.
 

sodakjoe

Well-Known Member
Sep 15, 2006
2,798
119
63
Ames via Sioux Falls, SD
At least they aren't apologizing. That makes me feel even worse. It was a bad call, but it was a tough call. Hard to really ride the officials in this case. I don't envy them at all.
 

kingcy

Well-Known Member
SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Sep 16, 2006
22,806
3,698
113
Menlo, Iowa
Outstanding.

So, is this Oglesby dude actually a Big 12 official?
If so, we could rack up another worthless statement or apology or pat on the head.

There are no Big 12 officaials. Officals work every conference.
 

Rods79

Well-Known Member
Nov 27, 2006
3,546
1,238
113
Des Moines
Is that the official official response...that confirms nothing more than was said in the post game? "Hey man, do you think you made the right call?"..."yes"...."well alright. That settles it!"