New Mexico first state to say no high school football

DeereClone

Nov 16, 2009
yikes this is getting dicey now. These are minor children were talking about at this level. At some point the empathy to give a **** about these kids long term health has to take precedence.

I'm simply asking if the spread risk is greater in sports than any other school activity, especially given the social habits of teenagers.

DeereClone

Nov 16, 2009
Sure its the same, the difference is the political pressure being applied to open up schools, so parents can return to work. That same political pressure is not being applied to playing sports.

As a teacher, I think we will start the school year, we currently are planning 2 days on, Wednesday online and clean everything, and then 2 more days on. But we also realize the first case of the virus in the school, we will shut down and go entirely online.
The Wednesday cleaning will be used to lessen liability if the school is sued for a child getting the virus. Always remember the phrase "best practices".

If this is the case and there is regular testing in your community, there is zero point in even trying to have in-person school.

Gunnerclone

Jul 16, 2010
DSM
I'm simply asking if the spread risk is greater in sports than any other school activity, especially given the social habits of teenagers.

You’re looking at it wrong. Any time you get people together that you haven’t been in contact with previously will increase the spread. THAT is the issue. We have to get the spread under control. That should be the only thing guiding policies at this point.

CycloneVet917

Jul 9, 2020
Some states are playing youth football and baseball right now. In New Jersey, my brother's kid had his youth baseball game on Wednesday.

3GenClone

Jun 28, 2009
Des Moines