Smoking Meat Questions and Discussion

Gonzo

Mar 10, 2009
Behind you
Results from my first go. Don’t judge my cutting, I’m still learning lol. Ended up separating the flat from the point after so that’s why there’s no bark on a few of those strips.

c65f49cf6c4bec719f02e06763c4fc8cb3db162d.jpg

a2be6c95596e758421e2594c90f28dd7e0a8f9d5.jpg

That's impressive for any attempt, much less a first. Nice work.

Reactions: JHUNSY

ScottyP

SuperFanatic
SuperFanatic T2
Jan 24, 2007
Urbandale, IA
For Saturday I didn't want to try to manage a long cook, and knew I had at least one Iowa chop in the freezer, so I went with an old standby favorite. If you've never smoked some Iowa chops, definitely try this one out. It easy and quick since you only smoke to 145 IT max. Unfortunately I only had the one Iowa chop so I had to pull out 2 standard chops to feed the fam.

I left the smoker on 'smoke' the whole time (about 180), which was a bit too long of a cook for the thin chops. They looked great but were a little bit dry. The Iowa chop was still juicy and fantastic.

Going from 130 to 144 IT took way too long on the low setting. Next time when I've got them on for ~2 hours I'll bump up the heat and just get them finished so they don't dry out.

View attachment 89749
View attachment 89750
I smoke mine around 180 for about an hour, then crank up the heat until they reach around 145. My family loves these and they are easy. We have them at least once every two weeks.

JHUNSY

Aug 31, 2013
Des Moines, IA
That's impressive for any attempt, much less a first. Nice work.
Did it on a Weber kettle so I had to monitor/adjust the temps throughout the night but it wasn’t as overwhelming as I thought it would be once I got it going.

Def found it helpful to kind of write out a general game plan step by step before I started.

gj524

Aug 10, 2018