This is what needs answered in my book. Just like you cannot review a play to determine if basket interference occurred if not originally called, you cannot review a play to determine if a foul occurred.
There was no foul called on Jones during the course of normal game play. I don’t think the rule says an official can stop play and review to determine if a foul (common or flagrant) occurred in the past. If a foul is called, that foul call can be reviewed to see if it should be upgraded to flagrant (1 or 2), remain common OR be called a flop (flagrant the other way), but a foul has to be called first.
Please correct me if I’m wrong, but that is my understanding of the rule, and that didn’t happen on the Jones Flagrant 1. The officials, in that moment, used replay to determine if a foul occurred, called one AND upgraded it to Flagrant after a review.